The Rhinebeck Historical Society was founded in 1967.
We maintain and manage an extensive historic library of archives collected over many years and dating back to the 1700's. The archives are protected in a climate controlled facility at the Starr Library in Rhinebeck and are available to anyone on request or during scheduled hours of operation (see note below). A catalog of the archived materials is maintained and updated constantly and is available through this web site (click here).
We believe that Rhinebeck is a unique area with extensive resources that illustrate our historic significance. (See box below)
Archives are located at the Starr Library. The society collects, arranges and cares for historic records that bear on local life of the past. It provides a schedule of monthly educational programs on local history, free and open to the public, annual awards recognizing efforts to preserve and restore the built environment, and a newsletter of historical information.
Access to the archival material may be arranged through Michael Frazier email@example.com. Rhinebeck Historical Society, PO Box 291 Rhinebeck, NY 12572. Questions should be e-mailed to INFO@RhinebeckHistoricalSociety.org.
Did You Know?
Rhinebeck was founded in 1686. The town was originally called Kipsbergen until 1713.
Rhineback has 437 sites on the National Historic Register.
Of the 16 miles of the Riverfront Historic District (30 contiguous estates), 8 miles are in Rhinebeck.
Rhinebeck's Beekman Arms (1766) is the oldest continuously operating inn in the country.
The first show at the Aerodrome was in 1960.